The Nameless Chronicles



The First True Love

He truly was handsome.  Standing at a whopping two and a half feet tall, his sweet little baby cheeks and big brown eyes, I fell, hook, line, and sinker.  His first name is irrelevant.  His last name, highly important to this little tale of sadness.  I could not pronounce his name of Schmidt.  It was really hard for me.  My mother told me to separate the sounds.  Shhh-mitt.  Shhhh-mitt.  And so I did.  And in my little 3 year old mind, his middle name became Shhh and his last name Mitt.

We were madly in love with each other.  Meeting at the indulgent location of early morning Sunday School, we saved each other seats (in the front row, of course) and always picked each other as partners.  We held hands and would give each other kisses.  I knew there would be no other man in my life, except for maybe my dad. 

It really was a magical romance.  Our dates included theme parks, the zoo at Christmas, romps at the park, birthday parties, sleepovers, all with chaperones, alas.  And then it happened.  His parents were moving to another city, way up north, which meant that he would have to go too.  They were moving a week or so after his 4th birthday party (I tend to go for older men).  It was a bittersweet occasion.  Yes, we played Hot Potato, with a real potato and MC Hammer music, but it just didn’t have the same appeal.  How could it?  They were moving to Canton. 

My sister, about 10 years older and infinitely wiser, informed me that Canton was realy the name of a city in China.  She even showed me a globe, pointing to where we lived and spun it around to a completely foreign land.  I was devastated.  I cried for him and prayed that God would keep him safe in that terrible country so far away.  There was no hope of even visiting him.  It would take at least 5 hours to get there, Mom said.  It wasn’t until several years later that I learned they moved to Canton, Ohio, and not Canton (now Shanghai) China. 

And his middle name wasn’t even Shhh.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * lottiesheart says:

    best rendition I’ve ever heard of this story!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

