The Nameless Chronicles



Almost 27

The problem with being single at almost 27 is that I am more readily meeting great men who are divorced already or have a child.  I would never have thought that I would ever have to debate getting involved with a divorced man or even a father, but it’s happening more and more.  I’m talking with one such man who fits both categories.  It makes me sad in one regard, but then I remember how much change God can have in a person’s life and I think, “I should be able to extend just as much mercy and grace to him as God has.”

What’s frustrating to me is that I have never been inclined toward motherhood.  And yet, this guy could be perfectly compatible with me except that he has a young daughter.  And yet again, I may not have to.  Regardless, it’s something that God has been laying on my heart to think about.

I had a conviction a while ago that if God told me to, I should be willing to adopt a child.  I think adoption is one of the most beautiful things on earth, and though I don’t think I am equipped to be a mother, I think there is a huge amount of grace when you are an adoptive parent.  But what is the difference between adopting a random child and marrying someone with a child already?  As I look more closely, I can’t see much of a difference.  The only thing would be that the child is blood-related to one parent and not the other, which might make things difficult, or might not.  But really, having a child from any source is a toss-up.

Any thoughts on this?  At this point, I’m not considering anything seriously, just brainstorming and preparing my heart for a possibility that had before been disregarded.  I’d appreciate input.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * advthirdculture says:

    omg, that’s always what my friends say!! I have some girlfriends around 30 – 33, and that’s the main problem, the men they meet are always married/divorced/children.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  2. * advthirdculture says:

    I agree, when we think upon our God and how much he has forgiven us and accepted us, etc. However, I also agree with your wariness about entering into a relationship with a divorcee and a father of children.
    I think you have a good point in talking about grace and acceptance, but then again, why was there divorce in the first place? And are these divorced men following God and being the Christian leader Christ has called them to be? (etc etc.. you know what I mean…)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

