The Nameless Chronicles



Equal Disclosure

So, Mr. Rockies and I had a nice long talk last night.  We haven’t yet graduated to talking on the phone or doing any video chatting.  It’s odd for me that we have said we want to work towards being more than friends, and yet he hasn’t tried to contact me on the phone.  I had to remind myself that it’s ok and not to feel slighted.  As I familiarize myself with his schedule of contact (I feel like such a girl), I can pretty much count on him shooting me a good-sized email in the afternoon and then we can touch-base on Skype somewhere in the evening.  Trust me, I totally know that he’s doing a good job of staying in touch and that it’s my girlie, probably insecure, part of me that wants to think something is wrong.

When getting to know someone, it’s hard to gauge how much information you disclose and at what time.  I decided I would just follow his lead.  I am the kind of person who has a ton of questions and want to know as much information as possible if I’m interested in something.  And the more information I have, the better able I am to come to a decision of what I want to do.  This drives my bff crazy because she’s way more emotion-driven, where I’m way more thought-driven.  We have clashed over various things from such a difference, but that’s for another blog.

So, I have to balance my insatiable desire for information and my understanding that I really don’t want to tell everything about myself right away, therefore it’s ok that he may not want to tell everything about himself right away.

Naturally in the conversation, we talked about our families and our general relationships with them.  We also talked about our churches and just a little bit about what our ministries have been in the past and what they are now.  We talked about spiritual gifts, and though I did share mine, he didn’t know what his was.  And then I brought up love languages and he didn’t share his so I didn’t share mine.  Instead, we shared what our friends’ languages are.

I feel like I’m going into foreign waters – a river where I don’t know the twists and turns, where the shallows and the deeps are – and though right now, I very much want to know all of it in one shot, the current only runs at one speed and I’m at its mercy.  So, I’m submitting myself to the joy of the journey.

Leave a Reply

