The Nameless Chronicles



Talking on the Phone

I’m not sure if I wrote about the one random guy I met on the Christian site, who I wished I had spoken with him on the phone first before agreeing to meet up with him.  In text form, he was funny, smart and seemed to agree with me on certain things that I was expecting to witness when meeting in person.  I would not have met him if we had spoken, audibly, on the phone because his voice was ridiculous, he required ample time to come back with a witty remark and he had no idea what I was talking about when I got super-excited about seeing the new Star Trek.  I was more of a nerd than he was, but he was the epitome of awkward.

I can tell you happily, that I will not have to worry about that with Mr. Rockies. 🙂  He asked me on Thursday if he could call me the following night and I said, “By all means, yes.”  So, we talked.  My sister has terrible cell-phone reception and therefore Skype was not working for us.  We couldn’t video chat, so we had to revert to the ol’ landline.  But nevertheless, we spoke on the phone, collectively, for 5 hours.  5 HOURS!  I was pretty shocked to realize that when we finally said good night and he was off to watch a recommended favorite movie.  He loved it, by the way – a guy who enjoys chickie movies (within reason)…still surprises me when I think about it.

The next day he called me without asking if he could, and it was a sweet call.  I’m trying very hard, and I think I’m doing very well, at keeping the reins on my heart this time around.  He’s really great, but we’ve only been talking for a short time, really.  So, I’m not letting myself get too attached until we can video chat or meet.  I’m hoping he thinks the same.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * advthirdculture says:

    5 hours!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

